A Closer Look – Doomben 10,000

I Wish I Win out to continue the hot recent run for shorties in Brisbane Group 1

GIGA KICK winning the LADBROKES DOOMBEN 10,000 Picture: Michael McInally/Racing Queensland

Punters wasted no time hopping into I Wish I Win after the star sprinter drew the inside alley for Saturday's Doomben 10,000.

The Peter Moody and Katherine Coleman-trained gelding was $2.25 in pre-draw betting on the 1200-metre Group 1, opened $2.20 after the field was finalised on Tuesday but was into $2 in a couple of hours.

That has him on the cusp of becoming the Doomben 10,000's third odds-on favourite in the past four years.

Giga Kick won last year at $1.65, inheriting the mantle as the shortest-priced winner in the weight-for-age era of the race from Eduardo, who won at $1.70 two years earlier.

They are the race's only odds-on favourites this millennium with General Nediym, who ran third at $1.80 in 1998, the previous horse to start in the red.

But the Doomben 10,000 is a much different race to what it was in the 1990s.

The edition General Nediym ran in was just the second at WFA, with the race having been a handicap until 1997, and 20 years after that it became a 1200-metre contest, having previously being run over 1350m.

It is now run a couple of weeks earlier than it was as a 1350m event, bringing it closer to the Sydney Autumn Carnival, which has helped T J Smith Stakes become the premier formline.

Giga Kick, Eduardo and English (2018) all came out of that 1200m Group 1 at Randwick to win the 10,000, the latter two going straight from the T J to the 10,000, while Giga Kick won the Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m) in between.

Giga Kick finished second to I Wish I Win in last year's T J Smith Stakes, when I Wish I Win ran his peak Timeform figure of 127, which remains the highest mark posted by a runner in this year's race.

The only Doomben 10,000 winner to have run to that number in the WFA era is Apache Cat, who won the 2008 edition in 127.

I Wish I Win ran 122 when third in this year's T J Smith Stakes and is joined by the two horses who beat him home in that race, Chain Of Lightning and Bella Nipotina, on Saturday, along with T J Smith sixth placegetter Espiona.

The latter three are all mares and, in something of a Doomben 10,000 rarity, the girls make up the majority of this year's field, with five of the nine runners.

Victorian mare Wee Nessy joins them, along with Bjorn Baker-trained three-year-old filly Steffi Magnetica.

Only eight girls adorn the 10,000 honour roll, Hot Danish (2010), Beaded (2011), Sea Siren (2012) after the change to WFA, while English (2018) is the only female winner at 1200m.